



The Wytheville-Wythe-Bland Chamber of Commerce will be presenting various awards at the Annual Membership & Awards Banquet to be held **Thursday, October 20, 2022,** at the Wohlfahrt Haus. Complete the nomination form by submitting information highlighting the major achievements or qualifications over the past five years based on the criteria listed for each. Deadline: September 2, 2022

OUTSTANDING CITIZEN (Award established in 1979) Sponsored by Stanley King, Sr.



Criteria: Honors a resident of Bland or Wythe Counties that is dedicated to fellow man; demonstrates long lasting contributions to community service and/or projects; participates in commercial, community, civic or governmental activities for the betterment of the community over an extended period of time and shows personal and/or business

success. Past recipients: J. L. Reynolds; T. Barclay Allison; Paul Parsons; T. A. Turley; James A. Williams, Jr.; D. Woodrow Bird; Paul H. McDowell; Willy B. Crockett; N. Stanley King, Sr.; Raymond Fulton; Garnett Ager; Dr. W. Randolph Chitwood; Rev. Dr. Thomas Sproule; Judge R. William Arthur; Arthur M. Gates; Thomas E. Mallory, Sr.; Dr. John P. Baumgardner; Dr. Robert Douglas Humphrey, Jr.; Jeanette Hurt Clippard; Dr. Carl E. Stark; Robert Eley Johnson; John R. Crowgey; G. W. Catron; Martha DeBord; Archibald A. Campbell; D. Reed Counts, Sr.; Olin S. Armentrout; Ruth Anne Chitwood; Thomas A. Bralley, Jr.; Wythe B. Sharitz; Stephen A. Lester, Sr.; George T. Johnstone, Sr.; Edmund Pendleton; Jack King; Jack W. Hunley; Linda P. DiYorio; Charles G. Crockett; Rose M. Lester; Dr. Walter S. Barton, Mayor Trenton G. Crewe, Jr.; Danny C. McDaniel; Jacqueline K. King; John M. Johnson; C. Wayne Sutherland; Dr. Charlie White



BUSINESS LEADERSHIP *Criteria:* Honors a Chamber member business or business leader of Wythe or Bland Counties that in the past year has made a significant impact on the economy, and contributed significantly to civic, public and/or community services.

Past recipients: Richard E. Phillippi, Jr.; William N. Gilmer, Jr.; Steven D. Irvin; Wayne & Ty Roop; Collin Peel; Steve Lester; Bill & Farron Smith; Bill & Jackie King; Dr. Gordon W. Jennings; Dale & Debbie Clark; Dr. Rebecca Beamer; Tommy Anders; Dr. Noah Malavolti; Dr. Amanda Brewer-Lord; Tim Walsh; Gary & Charlotte Naber; Tim Havens; Wythe County Community Hospital; Hannah's Attic – Vickie Smith; Bojangles; Matthew & Sandra Clarke - Clarke Precision Machine; Southern Pharmacy; Steve Lester, II; Musser Lumber; Joint IDA



MANUFACTURER OF THE YEAR Criteria: Honors a Chamber member business that is an active for-profit enterprise in the industrial sector with contributions in Wythe or Bland Counties including civic, public services and community service. Past recipients: Dave Elmore; Joe Freeman; Larry Corvin; David Carpenter; Bob Fowlkes; Tom Hough; Peggy Sutphin; Michael & Ronald Musser; Tom Lovelace; Collin Peel; Gatorade; Pascor Atlantic; Duchess Dairy; ABB, Inc., Somic America, Inc.; Coperion; Clarke Precision Machine; Klockner Pentaplast



ENTREPRENEUR OF THE YEAR *Criteria*: Honors an individual who owns and operates a small business, has shown innovative products/services, sustained success, and has contributed to Wythe and/or Bland Counties including civic, public services and community service.

Past recipients: Caroline Simmons - Curves; Matt & Tessie Temple - Wiffle Pops; Clayton Bush - 103 Towing & Recovery; David Clark



COMMUNITY SERVICE / IMPACT *Criteria*: Honors an individual or business of Wythe or Bland Counties that has made a significant, positive impact to the quality of life and is active in community organizations. The recipient expends time and talent to help make our community a better place in which to live, work and play.

Past recipients: Hontas Austin; Mike Hall; Tasos Gogos; John & Shirley Sutherland; Sarah Dunn; Molly Thompson; Paul Looney; Nancy Tate; Mabeline & Elton Robinson; Dr. Walter Barton; Basil Gordon; Robert Kegley; Betty Munsey; Reece Johnson, Jr.; Wytheville Ladies Ruritan Club; Tommy Hundley; Dee Dee Hoosier; Randy & Myra Moler; Bill & Wilma Snyder; Debbie Walker; Joseph Hand, Jr.; Linda DiYorio; Dr. Robert Douglas Humphrey, Jr.; Jean Lester; Danny Gordon; Andy Kegley; Randy Newberry; Rodney Cassell; Don Spiller; Farron Smith; Charlie White; AGAPE Food Pantry; Community Food Kitchen; Wythe-Bland Foundation; Wythe County Public Schools; All Nations Church; Central United Methodist Church; Dr. Jeffrey Pettit; Legacy Church; Open Door Cafe



OUTSTANDING CHAMBER VOLUNTEER *Criteria:* Selection will be based on the nominee's outstanding contributions in a voluntary role to the Wytheville-Wythe-Bland Chamber of Commerce. (Current Officers cannot be nominated.)

Past recipients: Dave Macpherson; Ron Kime; David Johnson; Betty Munsey; Robert Kegley; Jody Gibson; Danny Gordon; Amanda Dean; Leah Huffman-Chase; Ron Boone; Teresa King; Wythe-Bland Young Professionals; Brandi Jones; David Kause; Judy Lefler; David Kause



TOURISM ACHIEVEMENT Criteria: Nominees must be an active tourism leader in the industry and

represent Bland or Wythe County. Past recipients: Wohlfahrt Haus Dinner Theatre; Big Walker Lookout & Country Store; West Wind Farm Vineyard & Winery; Trinkle Mansion Bed & Breakfast; Beagle Ridge Herb Farm & Environmental Education Center; Edith Bolling Wilson Birthplace Foundation & Museum; Wolf Creek Indian Village & Museum; Wytheville Museums - Frances Emerson; Rural Retreat Depot; Wytheville CVB - Rosa Lee Jude; Millwald Theatre; Wythe Raceway - Fred Brown; Wytheville CVB - Mary Jo Babbitt



AGRICULTURE ACHIEVEMENT & Farmer of the Year Criteria: Nominees must be from Bland or Wythe County; involved in agriculture and community; stand out for their commitment to innovation, giving back to their communities, committing to good land stewardship and being a great example for future generations.

Past recipients: Jim & John Huffard; Roger King; Melinda Belcher; Hill Dairy Farm, Inc.; Alfred & Dianna Stephens; Tom & Ruth Clark; Laymond Barger; Wythe County Farm Bureau Ladies Committee; Wythe County Agriculture Association; Phyl Snapp; Bland Farm Management Group; David Danner; Morehead Farms, LLC; Charles & Betty Dix; Ceres Alumni Association; H.C. Groseclose Agriculture & FFA Museum;

Wythe "Bucky" Sharitz; J.C. Kidd Farm; Dr. Larry Taylor & Dr. Sheryl Taylor; Blue Willow Angus Farm – George & Helen Keck; Wolfpen Dairy – Aker Family; Barbara & Leon Cassell; Richdale Farms – Crowgey Family; Jerry & Molly Thompson; Matthew Miller; G. H. Peery, III



Please list noteworthy contributions over the past five years of the person/business being nominated regarding why they should be selected to receive the award. List only one nominee per form. Additional forms will be available at the Chamber office or copies will be accepted.

Circle the name of the award in which the nominee should be considered.

Outstanding Citizen of the Year Business Leadership Manufacturer of the Year Entrepreneur of the Year



Community Service/Impact
Outstanding Chamber Volunteer
Tourism Achievement
Agriculture Achievement/Farmer of the Year

Nominee:
Address:
Please give a brief description of the person being nominated and list noteworthy contributions over the past five years. (Attach additional information as needed.)
SUBMITTED BY:
Telephone/Email:

Please complete the nomination form and submit information highlighting the major achievements or qualifications of the individual or business over the past five years that is being nominated and return to the Chamber of Commerce no later than **Friday, September 2, 2022.**

Return to: Wytheville-Wythe-Bland Chamber of Commerce

150 East Monroe Street Wytheville, VA 24382

Fax: 276.223.3412 or chamber@wytheville.org



